Posts tagged with "the architectural league prize for young architects and designers":

Placeholder Alt Text

Architectural League announces the winners of 2017 Prize for Young Architects + Designers

The Architectural League of New York has announced the winners of Support, the 2017 Architectural League Prize for Young Architects + Designers. Currently in its thirty-sixth iteration, the League Prize seeks to nurture young designers and architects whose talent and contributions to the field merit distinction in the early years of their practice. The winners are: Jonathan Louie and Nicole McIntosh, Architecture Office, Syracuse, NY Michelle JaJa Chang, Houston, TX Kevin Hirth, KEVIN HIRTH Co., Denver, CO Mustafa Faruki, theLab-lab for architecture, New York, NY Isabel Martínez Abascal and Alessandro Arienzo, LANZA Atelier, Mexico City Greg Corso and Molly Hunker, SPORTS, Syracuse, NY The League describes the theme for this year’s portfolio competition below:
Support identified a present situation in which precarious forms and precarious social arrangements exist side by side. How does one clarify the modes of support in architecture today when the discipline’s role is obscured by a tangled network in which exchanges between built form and various systems of framing, assistance, and reinforcement are constantly in flux?
The winners will engage in a June lecture series and a summer-long exhibition at the Sheila C. Johnson Design Center at Parsons School of Design at The New School. Additionally, the winners' work will be included in a publication which will follow a recently-published volume on the 2015 cycle, Authenticity The exhibition will be on display June 28 to August 1, 2017 Updated information on the lectures and other Architectural League programming is available here
Placeholder Alt Text

Exhibition on Architectural League of New York’s League Prize for Young Architects + Designers opens

The 2016 Architectural League of New York's League Prize for Young Architects + Designers focused on the theme of (im)permanence. As the League's website says, this year's competition "asks how time affects architecture’s assertion of style, methods of assembly, and relationship to program." The exhibition, open until July 30, showcases the drawings, models, and research of the winners at the Arnold and Sheila Aronson Galleries at Parsons School of Design at The New School. As The Architect's Newspaper reported in May, this year's diverse group included: Rania Ghosn and El Hadi Jazairy, DESIGN EARTH, Cambridge, MA and Ann Arbor, MI Juan Alfonso Garduño Jardón, G3 Arquitectos, Querétaro, Mexico Neyran Turan and Mete Sonmez, NEMESTUDIO, San Francisco, CA Neeraj Bhatia, The Open Workshop, San Francisco, CA Hubert Pelletier and Yves de Fontenay, Pelletier de Fontenay, Montreal, Canada Yasmin Vobis and Aaron Forrest, Ultramoderne, Providence, RI Three of the winners will also discuss their responses to the theme of (im)permanence in a June 30 lecture; the event can also be streamed live through the Architectural League of New York. The 2016 League Prize was organized by the Architectural League and its Young Architects + Designers Committee.