Posts tagged with "Praemium Imperiale":

Placeholder Alt Text

French architect Dominique Perrault wins 2015 Praemium Imperiale International Arts Award

The Japan Art Association has announced that French architect Dominique Perrault, most famous for the National Library of France in Paris, has won the 2015 Praemium Imperiale International Arts Award in the architecture category. Perrault is one of five laureates, joining Tadanori Yokoo for painting, Wolfgang Laib for sculpture, Mitsuko Uchida for music, and Sylvie Guillem for theater / film. At a ceremony in Tokyo on October 21, 2015, Imperial Highness Prince Hitachi, honorary patron of the Japan Art Association, will present each Praemium Imperiale winner with a specially designed gold medal and a testimonial letter. The award also brings with it roughly $122,000 (15 million yen). The 62-year-0ld architect “treads his own bold path,” describes The Guardian, with designs that “can be wildly imaginative … [or] … abstractly minimal.” Success is nothing new for Perrault who has already won the the Silver medal for town planning in 1992 and the Mies van der Rohe Prize in 1996. In 2010 he was also awarded the gold medal by the French Academy of Architecture for all his work. Previous winners include architects Steven Holl in 2014 and David Chipperfield in 2013.
Placeholder Alt Text

Steven Holl Wins Japan's Praemium Imperiale

Steven Holl has been awarded the 2014 Praemium Imperiale, the annual award of the Japan Arts Association and one of the world's most important cultural prizes. The New York–based architect is known for his formally inventive buildings with sophisticated use of natural light and careful consideration of site and context. Among his many notable projects are the Campbell Sports Center at Columbia University, the expansion of the Nelson- Atkins Museum of Art in Kansas City, Missouri, the Linked Hybrid in Beijing, and the Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art in Helsinki. The association described the nature of his work and process:
According to Steven Holl, there are three major parts to his philosophy of architecture. The first is anchoring, "that is the relation to the site and the circumstance which is unique in each case." The other two parts are the Idea and the Phenomenon; that is to say the idea of the design and then the phenomenon of "the experience of the light and space and texture". At an early stage of the design process, Holl carefully researches the climate, geography as well as the history and culture of each of site.
The Praemium Imperiale comes with an approximately $150,000 prize.  Holl's name is routinely circulated as a contender for the Pritzker, which has thus far eluded him. He won the AIA Gold Medal in 2012. Martial Raysse was given the award for Painting, Giusseppe Penone won for Sculpture, Arvo Part for Music, and Athol Fugard was recognized in the film and theater category. The Zinsou foundation in Benin was given the $50,000 Young Artists Grant.
Placeholder Alt Text

David Chipperfield Wins 2013 Praemium Imperiale

David Chipperfield (Courtesy Praemium Imperiale) The Japan Art Association, celebrating its 25th anniversary, has named British architect David Chipperfield as a 2013 Praemium Imperiale laureate. The award offers 15 million yen (roughly $150,000) to each winner and acknowledges lifetime achievement in the arts. The prizes will be formally presented in Tokyo next month. Alongside additional 2013 recipients in other fields, Chipperfield joins a lineup of 124 artists including Norman Foster, Frank Gehry, and Renzo Piano. Japan Art Association chairman Hisashi Hieda said, “we reaffirm our commitment to honoring the arts and to celebrating its most imaginative and thought-provoking practitioners. The 2013 Praemium Imperiale laureates enrich our lives and touch a common chord of humanity despite geographic and linguistic barriers.”