Posts tagged with "CRO Studio":

Placeholder Alt Text

Erin Besler and Marcel Sanchez-Prieto named 2018 Rome Prize Fellows in architecture

Erin Besler of Los Angeles-based Besler & Sons and Marcel Sanchez-Prieto of San Diego- and Tijuana, Mexico-based CRO Studio have been named among the 2018-2019 Rome Prize fellows. The two designers represent winners in the prize’s architecture category and are among 27 other awardees for the year in various other fields.  The annual prize confers a one- to two-year fellowship at the American Academy in Rome’s headquarters in Rome, Italy that includes a stipend for research and room and board accommodations. The awards will result in an exhibition at the institution following an intensive research period.  Besler’s proposal “The Problem with the Corner Problem" will look into the problematic nature of corner conditions in architecture. Sanchez-Prieto’s proposal is titled “Architectural Divides.” Joannie Bottkol of the National Parks Service and Lori Wong of the Getty Conservation Institute were awarded Rome Prize fellowships in the historic preservation category.  Zaneta Hong, assistant professor of landscape architecture at the University of Virginia, and Michael James Saltarella of Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates were awarded Rome Prize fellowships in the landscape architecture category.    Other Rome Prize winners include: Ancient Studies Liana Brent* Allison L. C. Emmerson Eric J. Kondratieff Mark Letteney Victoria C. Moses** Sean Tandy   Literature Kirstin Valdez Quade Bennett Sims   Medieval Studies Anna Majeski* Austin Powell John F. Romano   Modern Italian Studies Franco Baldasso Jim Carter Alessandra Ciucci Musical Composition Michelle Lou Jessie Marino   Renaissance and Early Modern Studies Talia Di Manno Denis J.-J. Robichaud   Visual Arts Michael Ray Charles Sze Tsung Nicolás Leong Helen O’Leary Karyn Olivier Basil Twist   Italian Fellows Ila Bêka Carmen Belmonte Invernomuto (Simone Bertuzzi and Simone Trabucchi) Renato Leotta Francesco Lovino Virginia Virilli Francesco Zorzi *  year two of two-year fellowship ** year one of two-year fellowship