Posts tagged with "AIA New York State":

Placeholder Alt Text

AIA New York State announces 2017 Design Awards winners

The American Institute of Architects New York State (AIANYS) has announced the winners of its 49th annual Design Awards. Honoring architects, designers, and planners from New York State as well works completed by others in New York State, the winners will be officially recognized at a reception held on November 10, this year in Albany, New York. AIANYS President Robert E. Stark said, “Demonstrative of what we have come to expect in New York, these buildings are simply amazing.  These structures are an investment in the built environment and add value to the communities they serve. Modern to traditional, preservation to unbuilt, they are remarkable in their own right. I would like to acknowledge all who submitted their projects and congratulate the recipients of these prestigious awards.” The 28 winners have been sorted into nine categories of which can be found below.

Adaptive Reuse & Historic Preservation

St. Ann's Warehouse - Award of Excellence Marvel Architects Brooklyn Read more from AN here. Sagamore Pendry Rec Pier Hotel - Award of Excellence Beatty Harvey Coco Architects Baltimore, MD


National September 11 Memorial Museum at the World Trade Center - Award of Merit Davis Brody Bond, LLP New York Read more from AN here.  Bergdorf Goodman - Award of Citation MNA New York Dior Seoul - Award of Citation Peter Marino Architect Seoul, South Korea

Commercial & Industrial: Large Projects

Novartis Oncology Building - Award of Excellence WEISS/MANFREDI East Hanover, NJ Baccarat Hotel & Residences - Award of Merit Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP New York Cummins Indy Distribution Headquarters - Award of Merit Deborah Berke Partners Indianapolis, IN Read more from AN here. 

Commercial & Industrial: Small Projects

Hublot Fifth Avenue - Award of Excellence Peter Marino Architect New York


Arizona State University Beus Center for Law and Society - Award of Excellence Ennead Architects Phoenix, AZ Kent State Center for Architecture and Environmental Design - Award of Excellence WEISS/MANFREDI Kent, Ohio Read more from AN here. Center for Character and Leadership Development - Award of Excellence Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP Colorado Springs, CO Read more from AN here. Vassar College Bridge for Laboratory Sciences - Award of Merit Ennead Architects Poughkeepsie, NY Read more from AN here. Onondaga Lakeview Amphitheater - Award of Citation DLR Group | Westlake Reed Leskosky Geddes, NY FBI Biometric Technology Center - Award of Citation Clarksburg, WV Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP New York, NY Perry World House - Award of Citation 1100 Architect Philadelphia Read more from AN here. Theater Renovation Project - Award of Citation Popli Design Group Rochester, NY Duke West Union District Bridge/Pavilion - Award of Citation Architecture Operations D.P.C. Durham, NC


Josai i-House Dormitory - Award of Citation  Studio SUMO Togane, Japan Ogden Centre for Fundamental Physics - Award of Citation Studio Libeskind Durham, United Kingdom

Residential, Multifamily

VIA 57 West - Award of Excellence BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group New York Read more from AN here.

Residential, Small

Michigan Lake House - Award of Excellence Desai Chia Architecture Leelanau, MI
Bar House - Award of Merit Audrey Matlock Architect East Hampton, NY Southampton House - Award of Merit Peter Marino Architect Southampton, NY Old Orchard - Award of Citation Blaze Makoid Architecture East Hampton, NY De Maria Pavilion - Award of Citation Gluckman Tang Bridgehampton, NY Read more from AN here.


Maker Park - Award of Citation STUDIO V Architecture Brooklyn Read more from AN here.

Urban Planning/Design

Southwest Brooklyn - Award of Excellence AECOM Brooklyn Read more from AN here.