Corner Problems

Erin Besler and Marcel Sanchez-Prieto named 2018 Rome Prize Fellows in architecture

Erin Besler and Marcel Sanchez-Prieto named 2018 Rome Prize Fellows in architecture. Erin Besler of Besler&Sons and Marcel Sanchez Prieto of CRO Studio have been named this year’s Rome Prize Fellows. (Courtesy American Academy in Rome)

Erin Besler of Los Angeles-based Besler & Sons and Marcel Sanchez-Prieto of San Diego- and Tijuana, Mexico-based CRO Studio have been named among the 2018-2019 Rome Prize fellows. The two designers represent winners in the prize’s architecture category and are among 27 other awardees for the year in various other fields. 

The annual prize confers a one- to two-year fellowship at the American Academy in Rome’s headquarters in Rome, Italy that includes a stipend for research and room and board accommodations. The awards will result in an exhibition at the institution following an intensive research period. 

Besler’s proposal “The Problem with the Corner Problem” will look into the problematic nature of corner conditions in architecture. Sanchez-Prieto’s proposal is titled “Architectural Divides.”

Joannie Bottkol of the National Parks Service and Lori Wong of the Getty Conservation Institute were awarded Rome Prize fellowships in the historic preservation category. 

Zaneta Hong, assistant professor of landscape architecture at the University of Virginia, and Michael James Saltarella of Michael Van Valkenburgh Associates were awarded Rome Prize fellowships in the landscape architecture category. 

Other Rome Prize winners include:

Ancient Studies

Liana Brent*

Allison L. C. Emmerson

Eric J. Kondratieff

Mark Letteney

Victoria C. Moses**

Sean Tandy


Kirstin Valdez Quade

Bennett Sims

Medieval Studies

Anna Majeski*

Austin Powell

John F. Romano

Modern Italian Studies

Franco Baldasso

Jim Carter

Alessandra Ciucci

Musical Composition

Michelle Lou

Jessie Marino

Renaissance and Early Modern Studies

Talia Di Manno

Denis J.-J. Robichaud

Visual Arts

Michael Ray Charles

Sze Tsung Nicolás Leong

Helen O’Leary

Karyn Olivier

Basil Twist

Italian Fellows

Ila Bêka

Carmen Belmonte

Invernomuto (Simone Bertuzzi and Simone Trabucchi)

Renato Leotta

Francesco Lovino

Virginia Virilli

Francesco Zorzi

*  year two of two-year fellowship

** year one of two-year fellowship

Related Stories