Stage 1 Finalists Announced for National Mall Design Competition

The National Mall. (Vlasta Juricek / Flickr)

The National Mall. (Vlasta Juricek / Flickr)

The Trust for the National Mall has announced the finalists for the first round of its National Mall Design Competition. The 700-acres of parkland have been worn down over the years thanks hoards of visitors (25 million a year), marches, and certain bi-annual decathalons. The scope of the competition includes three distinct areas of the mall: Union Square, the Washington Monument Grounds at Sylvan Theater, and Constitution Gardens. Finalists were selected for each area, and will move on to stage two of the competition (team interviews), and then—finally—a selected few will be asked to envision a design for one of the three designated area.

From over 1,200 entrants, here are the firms who made the first round cut:

Union Square
Diller Scofidio Renfro & Hood Design
Gustafson Guthrie Nichol & AEDAS
Pei Cobb Freed & Partners Architects & Workshop: Ken Smith Landscape Architect
Reed Hilderbrand & Chan Krieger NBBJ
Rogers Marvel Architects & Peter Walker
Snohetta & AECOM

 Washington Monument Grounds
Balmori Associates & Work Architect Company
Diller Scofidio Renfro & Hood Design
Handel Architects & W Architecture and Landscape Architecture
Michael Maltzan Architecture & Tom Leader Studio
OLIN & Weiss/Manfredi
Ten Arquitectos & Andrea Cochran Landscape Architects

Constitution Gardens
Adropogon & Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
Lee and Associates & Arthur Cotton Moore/Associates
McKissack & McKissack & Oehme Van Sweden
Nelson Byrd Woltz Landscape Architect & Paul Murdoch Architects
OLIN & Weiss/Manfredi
Rogers Marvel Architects & Peter Walker and Partners

Related Stories